great help here!

Live to Write - Write to Live

When I say to myself, “I’m going to get published this year,” and a little voice in my head says, “you don’t have enough time!” that’s when I get stuck. Martha Beck calls this “a stalemate between a command and a countermand” and it leads to feeling “deeply stuck.”  Fortunately, she’s come up with a great tool that helped me get “unstuck.”

I hope it helps you, too.

How To Flip The Countermand1

Step 1: Get your stuckness down on paper. You know, all the “yeah, buts…”

Here’s the format: I can’t [Condition A], because [Condition B].

Example: I can’t be a published author because I don’t have the time to devote to writing.

1. I can’t [condition A], _________________________________ because [condition B] ___________________________________________________.

2. I can’t [condition A], _________________________________ because [condition B] ___________________________________________________.

3. I can’t [condition A], _________________________________ because [condition B] ___________________________________________________.

Step 2: State the Real…

View original post 400 more words

Leave a Reply

