2013 Rules!! (So far)

2013 has been my most productive year, and I’m really hoping to keep the momentum going. I’m moving into my own place in a few months, so I’m buckling down on finances. That being said, I’m starting to develop some plans for travel which is of course, costly. Or is it? Through the work of the amazing Chris Guillebeau (chrisguillebeau.com) and his “Travel Hacking Cartel” I’m attempting to explore new places at a savings.

Additionally, Mr. Guillebeau’s book “The Art of Non-Conformity” has been a huge impact on me these last few weeks. I’m more motivated to do things, to get my life, budget and career under my own control, rather than allowing others to dictate what I can and cannot do. I don’t like to call them resolutions, as I am so incredibly excited to start living life with less worry, but I certainly have plans as to what I’m going to be doing in 2013:

  • get rid of unnecessary crap. I have more clothes than most people (I’m a woman after all). I don’t really need them all and I haven’t worn too many. The blog Yesandyes.org written by Sarah Von Bargen, is great inspiration for a “minimalist wardrobe”, among other things. I don’t know that I could pare down my wardrobe to be as small as Sarah’s, but I can certainly make a dent in getting rid of clothes I never wear.
  • Make more money with less effort. The above-mentioned unworn clothes will probably fetch some money, either through eBay or consignment. Additionally, I am looking into trying to make money through freelance writing.
  • Create a budget and stick to it. The last few years I’ve fallen into the bad habit of buying things to fill an emptiness somewhere else in my life, which led to the giant collection of clothes/shoes/purses. I will need to buckle down in order to afford rent and travel.
  • Travel more. Driving across country with my ex fiance helped me discover how much I love exploring new places. I’ve been to more states than most people can name and I enjoy doing different activities than I did a few years ago. I’ve got a few more states on my list, and provided I can stick to my budget, I’d like to travel to New Zealand.
  • Continue to take good care of myself physically and emotionally. I was just diagnosed with a food allergy, and while it sucks, at least I now know why I always felt sick. I’ve done large amounts of research and have a game plan for my diet and how I can incorporate it into my half-marathon training.
  • Give back. I work in healthcare, so I could argue I give back daily. But there’s something special in doing more when you’re not on the clock. I am running one half marathon in which I will be raising funds for the Wounded Warrior Project and assisting a dear friend with her 5k, which benefits the students she teaches.
  • Make it the Year of Lisa. The Year of You, an idea highlighted by Chris Guillebeau, encourages you to live life fearlessly and the way you want to, rather than how you feel you “should”. I’m definitely at a point where I am very ready to make this happen.

I’d love to hear how everyone else plans to make 2013 the best year ever!

2 thoughts on “2013 Rules!! (So far)

  1. Hey Lisa! I really like your 2013 Rules post. I’m with ya, I feel 2013 is definitely going to be a great year. I’ve buckled down on making things happen, one of them start the blog about self-discovery that I’ve always dreamed about. If you get a chance check it out, its creative-guru.com. Thanks for sharing your goals, very inspirational. I think I’m going to pick up a copy of Guillebeau’s book myself!

Leave a Reply

