Melody and Memory

“Funny how a melody sounds like a memory…” -Eric Church ‘Springsteen’

I was going through my iTunes collection, trying to create a new running playlist. I am amazed at how hearing certain songs can take you right back to where you were the last time you heard them. Some songs are bittersweet to hear, others make me smile as new memories have been attached to them.

My musical tastes have always been all over the map, suited to whatever mood I am in at the time. Of late, the music is far more upbeat. Thanks to my wonderful boyfriend, love songs no longer make me cringe.  I have always had a deep emotional reaction to music-I’ve been that girl crying at concerts before. I use music as therapy, I suppose.

What songs elicit a reaction from you or trigger a memory? Please share via the comments.

