Brave Face

I had a great session with my therapist yesterday. We are really focusing on vital points to help me feel good about myself. A common theme was my tendency to downplay my intelligence/skills/intuition/emotions. In other words, it seems I am pretty smart and talented and I need to listen to my heart more.

 

One thing my intuition has never been wrong about is when people are putting on their “brave face” or not being as honest with themselves as they ought to be. I wore my brave face mask for years, so I guess that helps me recognize it in others.

We know I don’t have all the answers, but what I do know is this: 

  • if something doesn’t feel right, check in with yourself to figure out why.
  • the people who boast about their accomplishments are usually insecure about said accomplishments.
  • the people who always proclaim to be in love, hard working, truthful, happy generally seem to be the opposite (as Shakespeare said “methinks the lady doth protest too much”)

I know personally in the past I have acted happy, in love, etc when in reality, things were falling down around me. I am beginning to understand the importance of trusting myself.

What truths has your own intuition shed light on? Was there ever a time you wished you had listened to your intuition? Please share in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Brave Face

  1. I agree with you that the people who always boast about how wonderful their life is, are normally the people who are struggling the most. I don’t know if it is because they don’t want to admit it or if they are simply trying to think positive about their situation. Positive thinking in any situation can make a world of difference. But, living a fake life can also be very harmful. It’s definitely a fine line.

      • Yes, I completely agree with you. I spent years in denial too, trying to convince myself that my life was better than it really was. But, no matter what I told myself or others during the day, when night came and I was all alone, reality always knocked on my door.

  2. Interesting that you’re good at recognizing the brave faces– usually I get suckered by them because their perfect life narratives fall nicely into my “everyone else is great and successful and productive, why can’t I be?” schema! I’ll have to be on the lookout more often now.

Leave a Reply

