Has the Late Bloomer Disappeared?

I’m extremely excited to share with you a guest post by the talented Raimy of creative-guru.com. Please check out her blog and be amazed.

Has The Late Bloomer Disappeared?

Call me a trudger, a sleeper, a plodder, a straggler, a dilly-dallyer- I am a late bloomer, one of  the many less socially acclaimed. I’m at the ripe age of 24 and I’m vastly lost and wildly confused about my purpose in life. I’m like the hibernating flower seed that comes in a little package waiting for the early spring showers of hope to awaken my soul. I’ve got potential, I’ve got inertia, and I’ve got hope– that’s all you need when you’re traveling along this road- the full time creative, the dirt road less traveled nowadays.

I’ve got no innate genius, I’ve simply got slog and I pay my dues as I work hard and hope to one day see my words and designs brightly blooming over time. Let’s face it, not everyone awakens early to life’s possibilities and to their potential. This is especially true for people who were not raised in the most nurturing environments, myself included.

Our culture is so maniacally obsessed with early success, till this very day I felt myself just withering away. As I write, all I can hear is the loud ticking of the hands of time. I got my first gray hair this year and I developed an awkward eye twitch to go along with it. The stress of not being successful is getting to me. I should have an established career by now, I should own my first townhouse by now, I should have backpacked my way through Europe by now, I should be a successful writer and graphic designer by now- these are all the shoulds that heavily loom over me.

The only thing  that keeps me sane is knowing that late blooming is more common than not–that Van Gogh didn’t start painting till his late 20s, that Andrea Bocelli didn’t land his big role till he was 34, that Robert Frost didn’t publish his first collection of work until he was 39 years old, that Theodor Seuss Geisel didn’t become the famous Dr.Seuss until his 50s.

In reality, time is just a myth. Doing something creative, most people are inclined to think, requires the genius of youth. Early development has hardened into an iron law, but when we really look closely this isn’t alway so, majority of the time.

So you found your true passion after having spent 5 years getting a bachelors degree that you soon found out was not the best fit– yea this would be me. I found out the hard way, that college isn’t always the best place for growth. Instead of focusing on what really matters most, finding yourself and your passion, I was so worried about my GPA and getting a job to pay back my loans, my time in college just detracted from my growth.

Here I am now, going back to community college after spending so much time and money in a big, nationally acclaimed research university- UT Austin. Yea, “what starts here changes the world,” that’s their motto, but I’m sure not going to finish there. I’ve finally decided to embrace as my calling, creative writing and visual communications. It is never too late to embrace your true calling, no matter what age, no matter what social expectations you’re supposed to be fulfilling by now, no matter what — Time should be the least of our worries. Nobody wants to waste their life, but being true to yourself is the most important and rewarding thing of all.

Has the late bloomer disappeared?- I’m here to say,  Hell No!

Image

7 thoughts on “Has the Late Bloomer Disappeared?

  1. Reblogged this on Creative-Guru and commented:
    Has The Late Bloomer Disappeared?
    Guest Blogging at Latebloom Lisa today, very excited to share “Has the Late Bloomer Disappeared,” …
    Call me a trudger, a sleeper, a plodder, a straggler, a dilly-dallyer- I am a late bloomer, one of the many less socially acclaimed. I’m at the ripe age of 24 and I’m vastly lost and wildly confused about my purpose in life. I’m like the hibernating flower seed that comes in a little package waiting for the early spring showers of hope to awaken my soul. I’ve got potential, I’ve got inertia, and I’ve got hope– that’s all you need when you’re traveling along this road- the full time creative, the dirt road less traveled nowadays.

    Read more @ LatebloomLisa

  2. I understand this perfectly! I became a full-time university student when I was 53- traded in my silk suits & stilettos for jeans & boots & learned absolutely everything I could. Go for it!

  3. Nice guest post here Raimy-D! Since I myself never, and I mean NEVER wrote a single word of thought until a year and a half ago, I think late bloomers still exist. Follow your passion, you know you can’t go wrong. Just because you got the “wrong” degree or went to the “wrong” college. All experiences are valuable, Thank you Raimy D. you are the best! I have never been to this blog, but any blog that Raimy is on is a blog that I like!!

    • I’m so happy to get your perspective. To hear that yes it ok to be a late bloomer from someone who’s live a little longer than me on this Earth, it is very reassuring. That all experiences are valuable, yea I do think this is true and it is something I try to keep present even when things aren’t going so smoothly. Thanks Jonathan for these words, I’m really glad you found your writing calling so that I may read your words today.

Leave a Reply

