Dear Pizza, I still miss you…

As many of you know, I have been following a gluten free diet for the last 4 months. It’s been challenging at times, and it does get overwhelming.  I do not have celiac disease, which is why most people must avoid gluten, but I am allergic to barley and hops. You would be amazed at all the things barley can sneak into. Therefore, a gluten free diet is the safest choice for me.

I should preface the rest of the post by saying I love carbs. It’s borderline addiction. I more than likely developed the allergy by eating so much. When I was a kid, I used to snack on croutons instead of chips and pizza was always one of my staple items (hey it has all 4 food groups!). So, to be told that I basically couldn’t eat bread/crackers/pretzels/pizza/drink beer was rather upsetting.

It’s been a rocky road, full of learning, and I still have a ton to learn. As I began to research the safest foods for me to eat, I started to learn so much about beauty products that contain gluten, GMO’s and the benefits of eating organic foods. In the future, I plan to subject myself to a test of  “gluten free” beauty products versus “regular” for a Spa Sunday post, just to see if there is a difference.

All the learning, reading and experimenting really helps me to feel like I am gaining control of my body, my eating, my health and my icky autoimmune disorder. It’s empowering to be gluten free, rather than feeling like I’m missing out on something. Yes, there’s certainly foods I miss, but I’m also discovering foods I never would have tried before. My main goal is to find a gluten free pizza that is as delicious as it’s full wheat/gluten counterparts.

My parents and boyfriend have been so supportive, gamely eating gluten free foods when no one knew how they were going to taste. Not all experiments food wise have been successful, but it’s been pretty fun trying. I’m happy to say I’ve got a few recipes I’ve really mastered that taste good!

As always, I welcome a sense of community, learning and healing on my blog.  If you have any gluten free recipes/tips/secrets or posts you’d like to share, please contact me at latebloomlisa@gmail.com

label-gluten-free

5 thoughts on “Dear Pizza, I still miss you…

  1. I commend you for following through with this. I too am a lover of carbs – breads, cakes, pastas, etc. This has to be a tremendous challenge, but I can definitely see where it would be an empowering one. Keep it up! Sounds like you’re doing great.

  2. Hi! As someone who, for medical reasons, keeps clear of gluten for the most part (a build creates a catastrophe in my system), I’ve gone the GF pizza route a few ways. 1) making using cauliflower crust, or alternative flour crusts or 2) ordering from chains or restaurants that offer GF options (Homemade Pizza Co, Dominos, Udis Gluten Free, special local GF bakeries). Let me know if you want to chat more! I’m a HUGE pizza fan, too, and was devastated when I tried cutting it out completely. If your system can handle Dominos, I’d suggest trying it out. I do a meat-free, dairy-free, GF pizza from there on the regular and it is so amazing without being harmful or a calorie bomb 🙂

  3. Thanks Eileen! I’ve discovered a local pizza shop does make a gluten free option,so I am trying that next. I at least discovered a passable gluten free beer, so there’s one problem solved 😉

    • Have you tried Mission? It’s amazing (if you have a Binnys they carry it). Also, all hard ciders are naturally GF, like Angry Orchard. The beer situation is one I can understand.

Leave a Reply

