On Trust

TDOY_bloglovintour_banner

 

 

The Declaration of You, published by North Light Craft Books and available now, gives readers all the permission they’ve craved to step passionately into their lives, discover how they and their gifts are unique and uncover what they are meant to do! This post is part of The Declaration of You’s BlogLovin’ Tour, which I’m thrilled to participate in alongside over 200 other creative bloggers. Learn more — and join us! — by clicking here.

One of the many topics covered in The Declaration of You is trust. I think it’s super ironic that I am writing about trust. After all, I blog under a “pen name”, don’t use an identifying photo of myself anywhere and won’t release any info about myself because I want to maintain my privacy. Well that, and I’ve heard horror stories about stalkers, harrassment and theft when people knew too much about a writer.

Trust has long been a problem for me. Being bullied in grade and high school, being used by coworkers, being cheated on my romantic partners all led to me fearing hurt, not trusting people and just beating myself up. I also lack self trust, I don’t always listen to that little intuitive voice in my head that usually tries to warn me.  Trust is something I work on with my therapist. It’s something all of us need to have in order to have healthy relationships.

It all boils down to self-trust. Listening to that little voice, honoring it. Too many times I have ignored it and gotten burned. How many times has this happened to you? Much like having a healthy romantic relationship by loving yourself first, you need to trust yourself first before you can have honest, sincere relationships with others.  I get too bogged down by the opinions of others, people who have done the things I want to do or plan to do. This ranges from running advice to how to make crafts to following a gluten free lifestyle. When I first started running, I got so caught up in not getting shin splints and having proper form that I wound up hurting my legs by trying to run the way you “are supposed to” rather than following my natural gait.

I ignored the little voice when it came to my relationship with my ex fiance. I saw the signs of his being caught up in his past, saw the signs he wasn’t being honest, but I ignored them. Made up some excuse in my head about “looking past imperfections” and soldiered on. Needless to say, had I honored my intuition, I wouldn’t have had my heart broken anywhere near as badly as it was.

Trusting myself is harder than trusting anyone else. The sting of misplaced trust hits deep. But I’m committed to my relationship with myself. I deserve the absolute best and it all starts with me. I will trust myself and watch the ripple effect in my other relationships.  It’s a declaration of me, a declaration I make to the world wide web, and the world.

If you’re ready to realize your potential, to step into your life with passion, check out The Declaration of You- both the book and the website. Give yourself permission to live the life you deserve. Check it out at thedeclarationofyou.com!!

Leave a Reply

