DIY Holiday Centerpiece!!

I love having versatile decorating pieces and being able to reconfigure things for a new purpose. Today’s DIY was easy and can be used year round.

I had an outdoor lantern, made of wood and glass. I wasn’t thrilled with the color, but did love the weathered finish.

image

The color was a sort of aqua, which looked nice, but I wanted a color that would transition between seasons and work with more than just blues or greens. I used a sanding block to remove most of the paint. I brushed off the dust and mixed up some white paint with a few drops of black to make a light grey. I applied one quick coat of the paint as I wanted to keep a weathered, antique look.  I let the paint dry about 90 minutes. I placed a wax flickering “candle”, then added in some faux pine branches adorned with pine cones, berries and glistening snow.
image

The lantern turned out nicely, I may sand a bit more to really give it the rustic look I love. Painting the lantern grey allows me to change the look for all seasons, simply by changing the flowers/decorations inside. This was a great way to repurpose a “summer” outdoor decoration into an all season decorating piece.
This is a great time to try this project as most stores have outdoor patio accessories on clearance, so you can get a great piece at a great price! Please share your version of this DIY in the comments!

2 thoughts on “DIY Holiday Centerpiece!!

Leave a Reply

