Brave

The comment I hear the most from people who know about my struggles would be: “You’re so strong”. I believe that to be true, but recently someone said something different, and it really moved me. They told me I am brave. I don’t feel brave. I feel terrified and isolated and tense. Bravery I equate with soldiers, cops, firefighters. Not vaguely anonymous bloggers. But they explained it’s due to my honesty, my willingness to share the ugly details of my bipolar, my work towards fighting stigma. I don’t follow the patterns of so called successful blogs, I don’t follow the cliques and that alone takes bravery. It’s still not a term I truly liken to myself, but I thank them nonetheless.

Image

One thought on “Brave

Leave a Reply

