Sucker Punch

It had been a good day, a really good day, actually. Work was a good pace, not too busy and not too slow. I felt that I really connected with a patient who was emotionally pained, and we prayed together. My coworkers and I all got along and laughed. The sun was out and I had a healthy and satisfying meal. As is my usual custom, I turned on Pandora and then a song came on that hit me like a sucker punch.

Had this song not been recorded prior to my relationship with my former fiancee, I would swear it was about us. The pain I thought I was past came rushing back. I wonder if this is a hurt that will never truly heal, if I will be haunted by these ghosts forever.

Leave a Reply

