A Day to Recharge

I did very little today, and it was great. I was kind to myself as lately I have noticed I am not caring for my chronic illnesses (bipolar and migraines) as I should be. I can’t quite put my finger on exactly what needs changed, but I will figure it out.
I notice I continue to have trouble with my bipolar diagnosis, nearly two years later. I understand this is common, but it is still troubling. So I chose to care for me today. It involved coffee and sweatpants and fuzzy socks and Netflix and naps. I got my medication planner ready for the week and sat with the heating pad on to combat depression related aches.
I am not sure where to go from here, treatment wise. I know I must accept my diagnosis before I can make any further progress. But it’s hard to change 30+ years of beating yourself up. It’s hard to change the soundtrack in your head.
But I have hope. Praise be to God, I never lost hope.

Hope you all had a great weekend.

2 thoughts on “A Day to Recharge

  1. I’m glad you took care of yourself in these ways. I actually might emulate you, and do some of the same things today while the girls are at school. I feel guilty for not doing more, but sometimes that’s how it must be.

    You’re amazing – your strength amazes me! Thank you for writing this post as it helped me. 🙂

    p.s. I discovered a new coffee-related drink I LOVE – it’s coconut water with espresso and sugar.
    “Vita Coco Café Latte Coconut Water Espresso”

    http://vitacoco.com/products/vita-coco-cafe/#cococafe

    I know it sounds gross & unhealthy, but it’s DIVINE! 🙂 I discovered it at a Chevron gas station of all places!

    • Thank you Dyane! I love, love, love to read your comments! Right now, taking it easy feels safe and right. No need to physically exhaust myself when my mind is running a million miles an hour!

Leave a Reply

