Big Changes Ahead

I’m downsizing in a lot of respects. Due to my financial problems, I’m moving. I’m sad about it, I love my condo but I just can’t afford it along with all my medical expenses. I’m moving into a house with 2 roommates whom I have known for years. I’ll miss my quiet neighborhood and my balcony, but I get space to myself and a full backyard to plant my veggies and flowers in.

I’ve begun the process of going through items, donating what I can and wondering just how I got so much stuff. It’s a weird relief though, to get rid of things I’m not using. A lot of the “stuff” traces back to my bipolar and my manic phases when I’d make all sorts of impulse purchases to get the instant gratification I loved. I’m also assessing which furniture items will be going to my new place, which I’m donating and which I’m giving to my sister for her house. It’s daunting and tiring, but it’s kept me from thinking negative thoughts.

As far as my health goes, I see a rheumatologist this week and I’m hopeful it will help. I’ve been much better about taking my medications as I am supposed to, thanks to an app on my phone and setting a reminder on my Fitbit. My sleep has been broken of late, but a lot of that has to do with the pain from my fibromyalgia. I haven’t been too depressed the last two weeks, just a slight sadness about having to move, but knowing it’s for the best usually helps shake that feeling off. Overall, I’m really proud of how I am handling this emotionally. I’ve been able to avoid getting overwhelmed and looking at this as a new start.

Readers: Is it hard for you to let go of things? Any big changes coming up in your life? Please share in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Big Changes Ahead

  1. Letting go is something I’m relatively new to. Due to narcissistic parents and thinking for years that maybe someday they’d treat me like a person instead of a servant or object, I clung on a bit too tenaciously. I managed to start to figure it out, then let them go, and now it’s all a lot easier. But it took a lot of work to get there. I get really cross at people who take being able to do it for granted ’cause yo, it’s not that easy for everyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I admire you for making the decision to move…I know you had to do it, but still, it’s a great step and your attitude rocks. You’ve been proactive and that’s awesome.

    I got a FitBit for my birthday last month, but I haven’t used it yet. (I’m embarrassed to admit that.) I don’t have a smartphone and I wonder if I can still use it. I need to call customer service, but I keep putting that off. It sounds like you like yours – at least you use it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope the rheumatologist appointment went (or goes) smoothly and is very helpful.

    I’m really proud of the tone of this post. You’re doing so well in spite of big challenges. Please keep us posted….and let us know when you get that French Press! ๐Ÿ˜‰ You can get them used on Craigslist, perhaps. I got a cappuccino maker that way, but uh, it didn’t go so well. Maybe get a new, individual-sized French Press instead! I loved my Mini-Bodum so much and I wish I still had it.

    (((hugs)))
    Dy

Leave a Reply

