The Post My Ex-Fiancee’s Girlfriend Won’t Like

Years down the road, and I realize I still love him. I always will. When we were together, I said I’d die for him, this is still true.

I don’t know why, though. He lied, he disrespected me, he was carrying on 3 separate emotional affairs with various ex-girlfriends. I guess when you don’t value your own worth, you attract people who don’t value you, either. I think I am in love with the good memories: when we were together in school, when we traveled, when we had our most perfect, amazing first Christmas as a couple.

Yet I know, if for some bizarre reason came up that I had to give my life for him, for his happiness, I would sacrifice myself. Crazy? Yes. Noble? Debatable.

Should I move on and find happiness now? Absolutely. But I fear I will never feel love like that again. Life feels so empty these last several years and I realize it’s because he still has most of my heart. I don’t know how to get it back.

6 thoughts on “The Post My Ex-Fiancee’s Girlfriend Won’t Like

  1. I had TOTALLY given up on finding love. I was in an unhealthy, five-year-long platonic relationship because I was too scared to be alone. Then I met my husband-to-be seventeen years ago.

    After deciding to be with him, my heart grew in ways I hadn’t expected. Not to sound all mushy (I know I do) but that kind of love can and will happen for you too. I believe that you can find a love that will be just as amazing as what you had with your ex, if not more so, and then your love for him will be a pleasant, very distant memory.

    I hope with all my heart (pun intended) that this kind of love will happen for you soon.
    You completely deserve it, lovely Lisa!!!!

    • Thanks Dyane! Funny story yesterday at work, a co-worker looked at me and said, out of the blue “you’re going to get married”. I said “huh? I’m not even seeing anyone, what are you talking about?”. She explained it was “a feeling” she had, and that her hunches were usually right on the mark. So, who knows? I guess time will tell.

  2. when i first met my fiance, i wasn’t looking for anything. if i’m being completely honest, i still had feelings for someone else and didn’t expect to find anyone new. my fiance and i started off as friends. i liked spending time with him, but didn’t expect it to turn into anything else. after a while, i realized i hadn’t thought about the ex in a while, i was having too much fun being friends with my (now) fiance.

    i know it’s cliche, but it really does happen when you don’t expect it. someday you’ll meet someone who treats you as you deserve to be treated, and who you want to get to know better.

    • Thank you Lindsay. I do have a small light of hope deep inside of me, but I’m also working on being more comfortable with myself, which is the most important relationship of all.

Leave a Reply

